Mid January

I haven’t had a lot of time in the garden lately, but when I went out to water it this morning, I found the first cucumber!

IMG_20160121_071212085.jpg

There’s also a couple of pickles growing on another plant.

IMG_20160121_071246084.jpg

The tomatoes are coming along, lots of little fruit in sight, although nothing near ripening.

IMG_20160121_072152471.jpg

The pumpkin seem to be doing okay – there’s lots of little ones, but I do worry that they’re not getting pollinated. I’m going to spend some time in the garden this weekend, all’s well, so I’ll try to hand pollinate some of them just in case.

IMG_20160121_072205565.jpg

The eggplant are flowering – which is pretty but I’m not sure I’ll see fruit at this stage. It’s just not sunny enough most days, I don’t think.

The corn is starting to produce spikes. I’ve got more to plant out as well.

2016-01-17 10.42.41.jpg

The courgette have been delicious so far – I’m hoping they produce pretty regularly for a while.

The weather’s been a bit funny lately, still warm, but often overcast. Not a huge amount of rain, though it poured a couple of days ago. Mostly windy, overcast, and warm. Here’s hoping the sun comes out again a little more regularly, and it rains at night!

Leave a Reply

